Abhay Shivgounda Patil

About what matters.

Prisoner is the Society! (Tale of Two Relocations – Part 3)

with 2 comments

BapatMotel

Poet Vasant Bapat

“Strange are the ways of this weird country!
The individual is free – but prisoner is the society!”
(Vasant Bapat, Poet, on America)

For मराठी version of this part, click here.
Story so far: Part 1 and Part 2 (Nation of outsiders)

Ensconced in this secure, affluent and civilized American society, unknowingly, there grew a certain unsettling feeling within me.  A feeling immortalized by an oft quoted Marathi poem which goes – “though pleasing, it makes me wistful and sad.” This was at two levels. It was a kind of mid-life crisis. One begins to ask oneself, “What do I really want to do? What do I want to achieve?” On another level, I was seized by a longing to go back to my roots and spend the rest of my life there. I felt I would be happier in the Indian environment, in the Indian social and cultural milieu. I also had a desire to somehow associate with social work in India. I felt I must connect with the grass root movements in India in some shape or form.

At the same time, I experienced a disquieting monotony in our life in America. Often, I felt we were hopping from one island to the other. Home, work place, friends’ homes, weekend trips, cultural activities, children’s soccer match – that was the pattern day in day out. These islands seemed to float in the vast, strange space that was America. I often remembered the words of Marathi poet Vasant Bapat. He wrote these in 1982.

Travel where you may, visit any hotel or motel ,
Same form, same colors, same taste, same smell;
Strange are the ways of this weird country,
The individual is free – but prisoner is the society!

I was not alone – my wife too shared this feeling.  And like a reflex action, the process of our journey back to India got set in motion one day. A year and a half went by from the moment of decision to the time we actually relocated to Pune. I had lived Mumbai before going to America. But we decided to settle in Pune. We visited a few schools first and secured admission in one a few months ahead of our final move. I decided to look for a job after landing in India.  However, I did find one before leaving the USA.

Next:
Loss of Innocence” (Part 4)
“Born Again Citizen!” (Part 5). To be published.

Written by Abhay Shivgounda Patil

February 22, 2013 at 10:36 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. amazing verse by bapat…

    shankar

    March 2, 2013 at 8:42 am

    • Thanks Shankar! Vasant Bapat was an amazing creative artist. His range was awesome. He was also an activist who participated in the Indian freedom struggle and wrote quite a few ballads that became theme songs for the freedom fighters in Maharashtra. When I read his “Poems of Travel” (प्रवासाच्या कविता) where he chronicles his visit to the USA in the early eighties I was simply blown away by the relevance of those poems even in today’s times! I am glad that I could translate a tiny fraction of it to take it to the non Marathi folks. Regards. /Abhay

      Abhay Shivgounda Patil

      March 2, 2013 at 9:38 am


Leave a Reply

